Respect

I had an interesting revelation earlier today. I was perusing author blogs and various Twitter accounts and I saw a common trend mentioned a few times that angered me. I saw various people with comments such as. “trying to earn respect” or “searching for respect.”

Ummm. Did I miss something? The last time I checked, respect is something you earn. You don’t ask for it! You don’t search for it and you definitely don’t beg for it! 

Respect is something you earn through hard work and professionalism. Or you earn through being a good person that others wish to emulate. Either way the word common to both is earn! Respect from others should come as a shock to you. If someone says they respect you, that is a moment you earned so hold your head high for a few minutes, then go back to your business and continue being the person that earned that respect.

Too many people feel entitled to opinions. Entitled to respect. I hate the word entitled by the way, it ranks up there with privilege! Back on track Chad!

Just because you think people should respect you does not mean they will. In fact the mere fact that you presume others should respect you, is probably evidence that you are not to be respected! Humbleness is a tenement to earning respect.

I have told all three of my kids the same thing. I make them repeat this mantra at various times in their life.

“The hardest thing to do in life…is the right thing”

Feel free to quote me there. 🙂

Anyway, when you do the right thing, you will earn respect. Your enemies will even respect you if you do the right thing. Doing the right thing is quite simply the hardest thing you will ever do in your life. Others will taunt and tease you. The right thing is very often the unpopular thing to do. But it is the right thing. It will earn you that respect.

I just get the feeling that those that ask or beg for respect have a problem doing the right thing.

I have said enough and I need to go change my parking brake cables on my car.

Later

 

About Chad R Smith

I am an aspiring writer and a hapless motivator, hoping to spread a different perspective of the world and the chaotic ramblings of my mind with others View all posts by Chad R Smith

Leave a Reply

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

BayArt

New Perspective on Life

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational Quotes

theGoodVader

Growth, together

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

