Month’s end…. reality sets in

Well, National Novel Writing Month conquered me. I was unable to accomplish this monumental feat of writing in the span of 30 days.

Looking back, I didn’t even stick to any schedule at all. Not one to make excuses, I will now make excuses.

First and foremost, my eldest son who lives in Germany had to come back to the States for surgery and ended up staying with us for most of the month. I am not saying I spent every waking moment visiting, yet I will add the presence of another person to disrupt my daily routine added another complication to writing.

Holidays……why in the hell is NaNoWriMo in November?!?! The month where almost a full week is removed from normalcy! Let us just say, no writing got done then.

Other things I have learned. I have a crap-ton of hobbies. Apparently these are hobbies I only do when I am supposed to be writing. It is amazing how much I can find to do when I should be writing. Ever stared at a spackled ceiling trying to create pictures from the compound chaos? Yep, did that.

I did accomplish several things. I learned I need more structure in many arenas.

I first tried to write by the seat of my pants. I had an idea. I started cramming words onto a page with no clear destination. It reminded me of my one attempt at snow skiing.

Skiing I can do one thing very well…..remain upright. That is a small piece to a bigger puzzle. The minute things like turning, slowing down, and stopping were beyond me. I was a freight train screaming down the mountain in a single straight line. Full speed I would blaze down the hill removing any obstacle in my path….usually children. People would move out of my way….partly because I was screaming at them to do just that. I would hit the bottom and stop in two different ways, hit the bright orange fence or just leap up, land on my side, and skid to a stop. It was hilarious. People tried to show me how to slow down, I only sped up. Others showed me how to turn, I only sped up now in a straighter line. I was a boulder of chaos determined to get down the hill.

That’s how my writing started off. Words chaotically thrown onto page without sense or purpose. Then I stopped. Not an elegant ending. An abrupt halt that hurt a lot.

So I decided to go back and try this whole planning thing other people rave about. Oddly enough, I enjoyed it. I planned out the entire first book. I planned into its sequel. I went wild, added plot hooks and twists. Created new characters and fleshed out old ones. It was refreshing.

I just wish the writing part went as easily. It didn’t. So at November’s end, the novel is unfinished. Now, I plan to go back into it and write with a renewed vigor without a time constraint. Hopefully, it will go well.

About Chad R Smith

I am an aspiring writer and a hapless motivator, hoping to spread a different perspective of the world and the chaotic ramblings of my mind with others View all posts by Chad R Smith

Leave a Reply

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

BayArt

New Perspective on Life

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational Quotes

theGoodVader

Growth, together

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

