fiction frustration

Arrrgg! Two books going at once. One fiction, one non fiction. The non fiction is an opinion piece so it is trudging through the muck of my mind slowly but steadily. That is the easy one.

The second, the fiction piece has become bogged down. It is outlined and fleshed out beginning to end. Various snippets and chapters written and waiting for a second look. The entire story is laid out. I know where it is going. 

However, I have lost interest. A second fictional story has embedded itself in my brain. It nags at me. I beckons to be fleshed out, to be given life. Before I become Dr. Frakenstein to this second story I feel I owe the first a second chance.

I feel this way for two reasons. The first project was easy to outline. I created the characters and their quirks easily. The main plot was fun and exciting, easily had a beginning, a climax, and an end. I even came up with multiple sub plots along the way. Each plot line and subplot line were reconciled by the end. I even left a twist ending that opened the door to continuing the series. Imagining the story was easy. Writing it has not been. I feel bored with it. To me, it is done. The entire story has been laid bare in my mind. I see it and can recite it. I can imagine it all whenever I choose. Right now writing it feels secondary. I want to write it. I just don’t know if I can write it.

So I thought, I will set this aside and breathe a little life into the second book. Hopefully revitalizing my energy to finish the first. The second has a different problem. I have created the world and characters. I have designed an intricate world and its history. The problem is coming up with a viable plot. I literally have a bunch of characters in an interesting world just standing around with nothing to do. No plot, no nothing. It is infuriating.

Hopefully, one of the two will spark something and I can finish one of them.

About Chad R Smith

I am an aspiring writer and a hapless motivator, hoping to spread a different perspective of the world and the chaotic ramblings of my mind with others View all posts by Chad R Smith

2 responses to “fiction frustration

Leave a Reply

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

BayArt

New Perspective on Life

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational Quotes

theGoodVader

Growth, together

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

