Flash Fiction: Nutmeg Spice is Life

A quick story I whipped up super fast. Was good to just throw some words out there real fast and see where it took me. I already know I have major tense errors in this, but after a long day I wasn’t really up to editing it. I am horrible at keeping tense correct.

This is for Write on Wendy’s weekly challenge. Her requirements this week were to write about something to do with spice. I think I did that. Anyways, enjoy.

Nutmeg Spice is Life

The chime causes Tiffany to look away from her laptop and quickly grab her phone.

With a swipe Kayla’s bubbling face appears.

“Tiff, Tiff, Tiff, Tiff!” the last was more a high pitched squeal than a word. “Have you had the new Primo Nutmeg Spice Super Mocha Latte from Fivebucks yet?”

“I don’t like nutmeg.”

“Oh my god!” she gasps. “It is literally to die for! You have to go get one now!”

“Really, I don’t like nutmeg.”

“It doesn’t matter if you like it or not, it is the best thing you will ever put in your mouth!”

Tiffany stifles a giggle as her mind races to inappropriate memories. “Sounds great, but I still don’t like nutmeg.”

“No seriously, they launched it today and there are already thousands of Tweets about how great it is! It’s gonna make that Pumpkin Spice of last year a distant memory.”

But I like the Pumpkin…”

“No, no, no, no no! That was last year! This year is the year of nutmeg! I mean all the ladies on My So Called Housewives of Long Island are drinking them. They are all Instagramming them enjoying them.” Her words were escalating in pitch as she spoke. The only time she stopped was to slurp loudly on the straw in her half empty clear cup. “Wait, hang on a sec.”

The view of Kayla swings wildly around the room and Tiffany watches as she raises the phone to a higher angle, raises her near empty cup, and smiles into her phone. “There, that’s gonna be my new profile pic.” Her eyes turn back into her phone and Tiffany sees her eyes are glazed slightly, a small froth is forming at the corner of her lips. Another loud slurp distracts Tiffany’s inspection.

“Ok, so I’m coming over right now and we are gonna go get you one, and I can get another.”

“How many have you had today?” Tiffany asks.

“This is my fourth, but I saw leaked pics of Kim Stone drinking one on set of her new movie this morning. And they are so good, it is beyond words. Almost makes me want to make up new words.”

“Kayla.”

“Maybe if I come up with a new word to describe it I will Tweet it to #Fivebucks and they can use it in the next video.”

Her words were tumbling out of her mouth ever faster. Her pinprick eyes staring wildly, focusing through the phone. Tiffany saw the sweat quickly beading on her forehead.

“Kayla!”

“If I get in their video maybe they will send me some… for… free.”

She uttered the last word and all focus vanished from her face. Her mouth hung open slightly from her last word, sweat streamed down her cheeks.

She sat staring blankly. She didn’t move for seconds that seemed like hours, all while Tiffany screamed her name into the phone.

About Chad R Smith

I am an aspiring writer and a hapless motivator, hoping to spread a different perspective of the world and the chaotic ramblings of my mind with others View all posts by Chad R Smith

2 responses to “Flash Fiction: Nutmeg Spice is Life

Leave a Reply

Sableyes

Sabbles woz 'ere

tonysbologna : Honest. Satirical. Observations.

Honest. Satirical. Observations.

BayArt

New Perspective on Life

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational Quotes

theGoodVader

Growth, together

What Inspires Your Writing?

A blog dedicated to writers...and the people, places, and things that spark their creativity

